Who is the governing agency?
State Electrical Board
1560 Broadway, Suite 1500
DENVER, CO 80202
Fax: (303) 894-2300
What are the initial requirements for a low voltage license?
Electricians licensed in another state may qualify for licensure by endorsement if the applicant has substantially equivalent credentials and qualifications to those required in Colorado for licensure by examination. In addition, applicants are required to:
- Submit a completed Colorado State Electrical Board Application for License by Endorsement.
- Submit the non-refundable application processing fee.
- Provide Affidavit of Experience forms of electrical experience obtained.
- Submit a letter from the state licensing agency that issued your license. The letter must:
- Verify that you hold a comparable and state issued license.
- Verify that your license was obtained by examination.
- Provide a list of the categories covered on the exam, which includes:
- A breakdown of percentages for each category covered in the specific examination taken.
- The edition of the N.E.C. used for the examination.
(Your original license examination must have been based on the current edition of the N.E.C. in effect at the time of application.)
- Provide a list of the experience requirements for the license, and verification that the requirements were met.
Please follow this link for a breakdown of Electrical Licensure by Examination or by Reciprocal Agreement.
Burglar alarm installation does not require a license from the state; however, it is frequently licensed by local governments.
Fire alarm system installations do not require a license but must be inspected by local (city/county) building department. “FIRE SUPPRESSION SYSTEMS” and Contractors are licensed by the Department of Public Safety.
What are the continuing educational requirements of the State?
Senate Bill 16-1073 Electrical Industry Safety and Training Act created a new state law that requires any licensed journeyman electrician, master electrician or residential wireman to complete 24 hours of continuing education course credits prior to renewing his or her license. The new law replaces the previous continued competency program and begins with the 2020 license renewal period. All licensees must complete the required 24 hours prior to submitting an application for renewal.
License Renewal Information: All Electrician and Electrical Contractor licenses expire on September 30, 2017, and renew every three years. View your expiration date on your online account. Please note that renewals open approximately six weeks prior to the expiration date.
Beginning July 1, 2017, the Colorado State Electrical Board will be enforcing the 2017 National Electrical Code (NEC) as written in all jurisdictions it has authority over
What Elite CEU courses are approved for credit? PROV.0000042
Grounding & Bonding – GB – 42
Perimeter and Interior Detection (2hrs) – GB42-05
Tools and Techniques for Low Voltage Installations (2hrs) – GB42-06
Theory & Calculations – TC – 42
Electricity 101 (2hrs) – TC42-04
Safety Related to the Electrical Industry – SEI – 42
Common Sense Approach to OSHA Safety Procedures (2hrs) – SEI42-03
Overview of NFPA 70E Standard for Electrical Safety in the Workplace (1hr) – SEI42-05
On the Job Safety (1hr) – SEI42-04
Wiring Methods – WM – 42
Overview of NEC Wiring Methods (1hr) – WM42-07
Basic Elements of the NEC (2hrs) – NECC42-01
IP Survival Kit (2hrs) WM42-06
Structured Cabling (2hrs) – WM42-08
All Elite CEU license specific coursework is approved by NICET for the renewal of NICET Certifications. To update your NICET Certification, review our Fire Systems Category or Industry Code Category for applicable coursework. Remember, this is not a State specific Certification, and our coursework is approved across State lines. For up to date information and requirements for your Certification renewal, you can visit the NICET website here.
All Elite CEU, Inc. courses and Certifications are available for General Education